I would rate my digital literacy skill on an average of 6.5/10 in experience. I am no stranger to IT as i came into touch with it since when i was in secondary school where i took IT as my CCA and study Computer Studies as a subject in my GCE ‘O’ level examination. Further on, i took a diploma in IT aspect in my tertiary education as well. However as technology constantly evolves, it is hard to keep yourself up-to-date with all the technologies out there in the world…

My strength lies in my ability to search for accurate and reliable sources in the web by using key words in searching and carefully evaluating the information online as search engine results are not always very accurate, i would cross-check with other sources to see if the information are similar. I would visit more often websites that are written by well reputed authors as they are more reliable.

I have the basic skill in the 4 main MS Office tools (Word, PowerPoint, Excel and Access) and i think it is massively important to have them as they are required everywhere, whether is at school or work, you need to generate reports, doing calculations and analyze data, maintain database etc. I did a project work on MS Access in my secondary school days as part of my assessment for “O’ levels and i can say is a fun and exciting experience. I took up the challenge in learning how to use Photoshop for editing images during my tertiary education and it is worthwhile.

In social media, i have Twitter, Facebook and Instagram account to share something about myself and let people to know more about me. However i am not very active in all of these as i prefer to be low profile. I used to have a blog but was closed due to inability to commit. A search of myself in google couldn’t find results of me though there were loads of names which are the same as mine. So i guess this is something i have to work on…

I tend to be more cautious when it comes to managing my online privacy and security. In all 3 of my social media, i only allowed people who i have accepted as friends to view my profile and posts. Sensitive information like my contact number is not revealed as well. Website cookies or auto-fill up form are all deleted each time i have finish browsing the web and i will NEVER leave any account to be auto login when i view the site. Passwords are kept at least 8 characters long with different letter case,numbers and symbol, is a random one with no relation to anything. I have different sets of passwords for different account which makes it difficult for anyone who tries to login. I think that in this IT world where everyone can see basically about  everything, and bad eggs around trying to do something bad, it is important to protect yourself by practicing this good habits and save yourself from trouble.

Using IT for collaboration is part and parcel of my job during my poly internship at DBS Bank Ltd whereby i search databases for customer information and contact them where necessary.

The weakness lies in my ability to participate in online communities and building online networks as i am a bit reserved on these as i do not want to get myself be immersed into this kind of online environment.

I do see immense opportunities for me to upgrade my mediocre digital literacy skills set and i believe that they were be of a great use to be in my future.